Bernini

Author(s): Andrea Bacchi (Editor); Anna Coliva (Editor)

Artists & Styles

-A uniquely presented collection of prose and paintings -Appeals to poetry and art book buyers and collectors The Return of Two Dick Willie is the latest collection of artwork and prose by artist/entrepreneur Danny Simmons. Carrying on in the tradition of Romare Bearden and Langston Hughes, Simmons combines his abstract expressionist collages with the the colorful saga of Two Dick Willie. Visually stunning and intellectually stimulating, this book captures Simmons's skill at its finest. Among the most impressive artists of his day, The New York Times says that Simmons "injects freshness" into his abstracts, and that they are "meticulously rendered and decoratively impressive."


Product Information

Accompanies an exhibition in Rome, Galleria Borghese, from 31 October 2017 to February 2018.

Andrea Bacchi is associate professor of Art History at the University of Bologna and co-director of the art historical journal Nuovi Studi. He has curated several exhibition on sculpture including one on Bernini and the Birth of Baroque Portrait, at the Getty Institute and at the National Gallery of Canada. Anna Coliva is the director of the Galleria Borghese in Rome. She has curated many exhibitions and she is the author of over 100 publications, mainly focused on 16th and 17th century Roman and Emilian painting and sculpture (Caravaggio, Bernini, Domenichino, Parmigianino, Dosso Dossi). In 2013 she received the Legion d'Honneur from the President of France.

General Fields

  • : 9788899765569
  • : Officina Libraria
  • : Officina Libraria
  • : January 2018
  • : 280mm X 240mm
  • : Italy
  • : February 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 730.92
  • : 440
  • : 221 colour, 10 b&w
  • : Andrea Bacchi (Editor); Anna Coliva (Editor)
  • : Hardback
  • : English