Product detail

The Lewis Man (The Lewis Trilogy #2)

The Lewis Man (The Lewis Trilogy #2)

Author: Peter May (Murdoch University Royal Ontario Museum Royal Ontario Museum Murdoch University Royal Ontario Museum Royal Ontario Museum Murdoch University Murdoch University)
Series: Lewis Trilogy
$12.95(AUD)  inc GST
save $13.05(AUD) (50.2%) $26.00(AUD)
Available Stock: 0

Marilyn Stasio in "The New York Times" raved: "Peter May is a writer I'd follow to the ends of the earth." Among the many honors received, "The Blackhouse," the first novel in May's acclaimed Lewis trilogy, won the Barry and Crime Thriller Hound awards. In "The Lewis Man," the second book of the trilogy, Fin Macleod has returned to the Isle of Lewis, the storm-tossed, wind-scoured outer Hebridean island where he was born and raised. Having left behind his adult life in Edinburgh--including his wife and his career in the police force--the former Detective Inspector is intent on repairing past relationships and restoring his parents' derelict cottage. His plans are interrupted when an unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog. The only clue to its identity is a DNA match to a local farmer, the now-senile Tormod Macdonald--the father of Fin's childhood sweetheart, Marsaili--a man who has claimed throughout his life to be an only child, practically an orphan. Reluctantly drawn into the investigation, Fin uncovers deep family secrets even as he draws closer to the killer who wishes to keep them hidden. Already an international bestseller and winner of numerous awards, including France's Prix des Lecteurs du Telegramme, "The Lewis Man" has the lyrical verve of Ian Rankin and the gutsy risk-taking of Benjamin Black. As fascinating and forbidding as the Hebridean landscape, the book (according to "The Times") "throbs with past and present passions, jealousies, suspicions and regrets; the emotional secrets of the bleak island are even deeper than its peat bog."

"Like all the best crime fiction its interest is not restricted to the investigation... the scenes set in the orphanage in the Dean Village are moving... crime novels may be primarily entertainments, but the best ones always offer something more. Fin's investigation of this long-buried crime forces him to make a reassessment of his own life."--Allan Massie, The Scotsman
Author description

Peter May is the multi award-winning author of the internationally best-selling Lewis Trilogy set in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland; the China Thrillers, featuring Beijing detective Li Yan and American forensic pathologist Margaret Campbell; the critically-acclaimed Enzo Files, featuring Scottish forensic scientist Enzo MacLeod, which is set in France; and "Entry Island." One of Scotland's most prolific television dramatists, he garnered more than a thousand credits in fifteen years as scriptwriter and script editor on prime-time British television drama. He is the creator of three major television drama series and presided over two of the highest-rated serials in his homeland before quitting television to concentrate on his first love, writing novels.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781623654481
  • : Quercus Books
  • : Quercus Books
  • : June 2015
  • : 210mm X 140mm X 22mm
  • : United States
  • : August 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Peter May (Murdoch University Royal Ontario Museum Royal Ontario Museum Murdoch University Royal Ontario Museum Royal Ontario Museum Murdoch University Murdoch University)
  • : Paperback / softback
  • : English
  • : 823/.914
  • : bl2015021329