The City of Brass

Author(s): S. A. Chakraborty

Science Fiction/Fantasy

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal - Vulture - The Verge - SYFYWire


Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts.


On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences.


Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass.


It's a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound--and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.


*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel


*Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel


*Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer


Featuring a stepback and extra content including a bonus scene and an excerpt from The Kingdom of Copper.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780008239428
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Limited
  • : Voyager
  • : September 2018
  • : ---length:- '19.7'width:- '13'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : S. A. Chakraborty
  • : Paperback
  • : 813.6
  • : 544