A History of the English-Speaking Peoples: The Age of Revolution: Volume III

Author(s): Sir Winston S. Churchill

Special Orders

This history will endure; not only because Sir Winston has written it, but also because of its own inherent virtues - its narrative power, its fine judgment of war and politics, of soldiers and statesmen, and even more because it reflects a tradition of what Englishmen in the hey-day of their empire thought and felt about their country's past. The Daily Telegraph

Spanning four volumes and many centuries of history, from Caesar's invasion of Britain to the start of World War I, A History of the English-Speaking Peoples stands as one of Winston Churchill's most magnificent literary works. Begun during Churchill's 'wilderness years' when he was out of government, first published in 1956 after his leadership through the darkest days of World War II had cemented his place in history and completed when Churchill was in his 80s, it remains to this day a compelling and vivid history.

In The Age of Revolution - the third volume of Churchill's history - Churchill charts the rise of Great Britain as a world power and the long rivalry with France, the shadow of the French Revolution, the rise of Napoleon and his defeat at Waterloo. The volume also covers the rise of the American colonies, their triumphant overthrow of British rule in the War of Independence and the first great generation of American leaders- Washington, Adams and Jefferson.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

In the third volume of his history of the English-speaking peoples, Sir Winston S. Churchill reaches the high point of the British Imperial epoch, covering the long rivalry with France, Napoleon and the American war of Independence.

Sir Winston S. Churchill (1874-1965) was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom on two occasions, from 1940-1945 and again from 1951 to 1955. Celebrated as one of the greatest leaders of the twentieth century, he was also a gifted orator, statesman and historian. The author of more than 40 books, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1953 and in 1963 was made an honorary citizen of the United States.

Preface Maps and Genealogical Tables Book VII: England's Advance to World Power 1. William of Orange 2. Continental War 3. The Spanish Succession 4. Marlborough: Blenheim and Ramillies 5. Oudenrade and Malplaquet 6. The Treaty of Utrecht Book VIII: The First British Empire 1. The House of Hanover 2. Sir Robert Walpole 3. The Austrian Succession and the "Forty-Five" 4. The American Colonies 5. The First World War 6. The Quarrel with America 7. The War of Independence 8. The United States 9. The Indian Empire Book IX: Napoleon 1. The Younger Pitt 2. The American Constitution 3. The French Revolution 4. France Confronted 5. Trafalgar 6. The Emperor of the French 7. The Peninsular War and the Fall of Napoleon 8. Washington, Adams and Jefferson 9. The War of 1812 10. Elba and Waterloo Index

General Fields

  • : 9781472585561
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Academic
  • : March 2015
  • : 234mm X 156mm X 23mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sir Winston S. Churchill
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 941
  • : 416