A History of the English-Speaking Peoples: The Great Democracies: Volume IV

Author(s): Sir Winston S. Churchill

Special Orders

This history will endure; not only because Sir Winston has written it, but also because of its own inherent virtues - its narrative power, its fine judgment of war and politics, of soldiers and statesmen, and even more because it reflects a tradition of what Englishmen in the hey-day of their empire thought and felt about their country's past. The Daily Telegraph

Spanning four volumes and many centuries of history, from Caesar's invasion of Britain to the start of World War I, A History of the English-Speaking Peoples stands as one of Winston Churchill's most magnificent literary works. Begun during Churchill's 'wilderness years' when he was out of government, first published in 1956 after his leadership through the darkest days of World War II had cemented his place in history and completed when Churchill was in his 80s, it remains to this day a compelling and vivid history.

The Great Democracies is the fourth and final volume of Churchill's history. Here, Churchill reaches the modern era. For Britain, this was the high Victorian era of Palmerston, Gladstone and Disraeli, an age of free trade and imperialism as the British spread to Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Meanwhile the fledgling republic in America endured the great crisis of the Civil War to take its first steps on the road to becoming the world superpower that endures to this day.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

In the fourth and final volume of his history of the English-speaking peoples, Sir Winston S. Churchill chronicles the birth of the modern era: from the industrial revolution and the high Victorian era of Gladstone and Disraeli, to the American Civil War and the emergence of the United States as a world power as the 20th Century dawned.

Sir Winston S. Churchill (1874-1965) was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom on two occasions, from 1940-1945 and again from 1951 to 1955. Celebrated as one of the greatest leaders of the twentieth century, he was also a gifted orator, statesman and historian. The author of more than 40 books, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1953 and in 1963 was made an honorary citizen of the United States.

Preface Maps Book X: Recovery and Reform 1. The Victory Peace 2. Canning and the Duke 3. Reform and Free Trade 4. The Crimean War 5. Palmerston 6. The Migration of the Peoples I: Canada and South Africa 7. The Migration of the Peoples II: Australia and New Zealand Book XI: The Great Republic 1. American Epic 2. Slavery and Secession 3. The Union in Danger 4. The Campaign Against Richmond 5. Lee and McClellan 6. Chancellorsville and Gettysburg 7. The Victory of the Union Book XII: The Victorian Age 1. The Rise of Germany 2. Gladstone and Disraeli 3. American "Reconstruction" 4. America as a World Power 5. Home Rule for Ireland 6. Lord Salisbury's Governments 7. The South African War index

General Fields

  • : 9781472585714
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Academic
  • : March 2015
  • : 234mm X 156mm X 20mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sir Winston S. Churchill
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 941
  • : 400