The Chicken Sisters - A Feel-Good Summer Read of Sibling Rivalry, Family History and Fried Chicken

Author(s): K. J. Dell Antonia

General | 2020 October New Release

A quirky, warm and uplifting summer read of sibling rivalry, second chances and fried chicken. Perfect for fans of Emma Straub, Jennifer Weiner, Gilmore Girls and good old-fashioned home cooking.


THREE GENERATIONS. TWO CHICKEN SHACKS. ONE RECIPE FOR DISASTER.


In tiny Merinac, Kansas, Chicken Mimi's and Chicken Frannie's have spent a century vying to serve up the best fried chicken in the state - and the legendary feud between their respective owners, the Moores and the Pogociellos, has lasted just as long. No one feels the impact more than thirty-five-year-old widow Amanda Moore, who grew up working for her mom at Mimi's before scandalously marrying Frank Pogociello and changing sides to work at Frannie's. Tired of being caught in the middle, Amanda sends an SOS to Food Wars, the reality TV restaurant competition that promises $100,000 to the winner. But in doing so, she launches both families out of the frying pan and directly into the fire.


The last thing Brooklyn-based organisational guru Mae Moore, Amanda's sister, wants is to go home to Kansas. But when her career implodes, Food Wars becomes her chance to step back into the limelight. Mae is certain she can make the fading Mimi's look good - even if that pits her against Amanda and Frannie's. With a greedy producer stoking the flames, their friendly rivalry quickly turns into a game of chicken. Yet when family secrets become public knowledge, the sisters must choose: will they fight with each other, or for their heritage? After all, all's fair in love, and war, and chicken . . .

$29.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
3


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781529350623
  • : Hodder & Stoughton
  • : Two Roads
  • : October 2020
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : K. J. Dell Antonia
  • : Paperback
  • : 1020
  • : 352